74 Days

“Hey Annabelle, you should start a blog to keep people updated while you’re studying abroad!” -Me to myself, several weeks ago.

“Wait, what do I write about?? Oh no.” -Me, right now.

I guess I’ll just start typing and we’ll see what happens.

As I sit here writing this, there are approximately 74 days, 37 minutes, and 27 seconds until the day I leave. But who’s counting? …Me, because I cannot wait to be living in Seoul and studying at Korea University (고려대학교). Korea University is one of South Korea’s top universities, and I’m honestly still in shock that I get to attend such an amazing school. I may have teared up once or twice thinking about it, but we’re not going to talk about that right now. Or ever.

***Just because I’m a nerd and can’t get over my excitement, here is KU’s 2016 promotional video (x).

I don’t have a whole lot to talk about at this point in time, so humor me for the next few paragraphs or lists or whatever this devolves into. 감사합니다 🙂

Things I’m Excited About

You know, besides everything.

  1. The food! I’ve been making Korean food at home (or at least attempting to) and I’ve been to a Korean BBQ restaurant in town – where I was promptly schooled by a professor from Korea for eating my bibimbap incorrectly. It was only slightly embarrassing. Regardless, I already love the food and I can’t wait for more. I am kind of wimpy when it comes to spicy food, though, so I may change my tune very quickly.
  2. Living in a big city. I love big cities way more than small towns. I can’t really put my finger on the reason- maybe it’s because it doesn’t feel like everyone knows everything about everyone else in a big city. Maybe it’s because all the small towns I’ve lived in are BORING and I need something more interesting to happen than people judging the severity of the weather by how far the local weatherman’s sleeves are rolled up. I dunno, guys.
  3. Practicing my Korean. I’ve been learning Korean since January and I can’t wait to really try out what I know. I hope I’ll get more comfortable with the language and learn how to read Hangul faster because right now, I have the reading speed of a kindergartener.

Things I’m Worried About

Maybe worried is the wrong word. Things I’m apprehensive about. Concerned about. Less than ecstatic about. ___________ about.

  1. Not making friends. Okay, this isn’t a worry. More like a small voice in the back of my head that is being utterly ridiculous. I’ve already made at least one friend and I haven’t even gotten there yet! (Hi Cheyenne!)
  2. Is it lame to say loving South Korea too much? If my experience when I went to Europe a few years ago is any indication, I won’t want to come back. At all. And I’ll have to anyway, no matter how unhappy it makes me. But if I love it that much, I’ll make it back one day, yeah?
  3. Something going wrong with my visa. My program is supposed to send me documents I need for my visa application 4-6 weeks before I leave, which is horribly nervewracking for someone like me who wants everything finished and squared away as soon as possible. If something goes wrong, I don’t want to be scrambling at the last second to get everything straightened out so I can leave. Yikes.

There are tons of things I could add to these lists (mostly the excitement list), but I feel like I’ve been rambling enough for one blog post. I plan to write a couple more of these before I leave, if anyone has any questions or suggestions for me to write about, feel free to send them my way!! There aren’t a lot of resources for students studying abroad in Asia, and almost none of them are about South Korea, so I also want this to be helpful for anyone considering studying abroad in Korea!

..I guess that’s it!

안녕!

-Annabelle

GoFundMe

2 thoughts on “74 Days

Leave a Reply

